Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1751 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Jul 9, 2014 3:09 PM by ScottGladden RSS
newbierunsslow Rookie 1 posts since
Jun 18, 2014
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 18, 2014 11:37 AM

Newbie: Advice about treadmill & 5k?

I am totally new to running. Like... the "couch" in C25K new.

Time & environmental considerations make the treadmill a necessity (no safe outdoor running spot that doesn't require a lengthy drive).

Is treadmill running better than nothing?

And I know marathon training on a treadmill is difficult if not impossible, but what about a 5k? Can I reasonably train for a 5k (not planning or wanting to do anything other than not finish last lol) on a treadmill exclusively?

• jsimms435 Amateur 15 posts since
    Aug 8, 2012
    1. Jun 18, 2014 12:08 PM (in response to newbierunsslow)

Yes, treadmill running is better than nothing.  I would think you could do a 5k while only training on a treadmill.  I have done it before last year.  Your going to find it harder typically to run outside due to weather and other conditions such as hills.  Also, on a treadmill your not generally working as hard since you don't have to generate your own pace.  But, it can be done.  I wouldn't try to do anything longer than a 5k when only using the treadmill though. 

• shipo Legend 452 posts since
    Aug 9, 2013
    2. Jun 18, 2014 12:53 PM (in response to jsimms435)

While I agree with pretty much everything jsimms435 wrote, I have to say this; for every rule there's an exception.