Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

7072 Views 8 Replies Latest reply: Aug 20, 2014 5:29 AM by Kelly1066 RSS
Rissiroo Rookie 2 posts since
Jun 27, 2014
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 27, 2014 12:29 PM

Best way to increase endurance?

Hi, I'm looking for tips to increase the distance I can run before having to stop and walk.

I've been running for 3x a week for about 3 months now. After a breif warm up, I run as far as I can without stopping, and then I alternate walking/running for a total distance of 2.5 to 3 miles. (I also run each subsequent interval for as long as I can before walking). When I first began, my endurance for the first leg of my run steadily increased each week. But I haven't made any progress in the last 4 weeks and I'm not sure how to overcome this plateau.

Right now, I typically make it 0.5 to 0.7 miles before I have to stop. My short term goal is to run 1 mile before needing to stop the first time (I have actually hit this benchmark on 3 occasions, but I want to be able to do it consistently) and eventually I want to run a 5k without stopping.