Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

690 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Jul 9, 2014 7:08 AM by Julie Ann Hackett RSS
Timbucktue Rookie 2 posts since
Jun 30, 2014
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 30, 2014 8:30 AM

Dinner before a light run...

Hi everyone, first time post.

I'm relatively new to running. I've always loathed it, instead preferring to walk whatever 5-7 mile route I'd do for the day, but I'm actually making some headway in learning to enjoy it.

My only hurdle is that I only have time to run during the week when i get home from work, and I'm not someone who can skip dinner (I typically get low blood sugar if I skip, no matter how much I try to stagger and re-arrange my meals during the day). I usally just wait an hour and a half or so before running, but as expected sometimes this leads to nausea, cramps, etc.

So is there anything somewhat substantial I can eat that will digest quickly/easily and not weigh me down? I naively thought pasta might do it, but I'm now seeing that pasta really needs to be eaten earlier in the day to provide any benefit for a run later on.

Thanks!

• shipo Legend 455 posts since
    Aug 9, 2013
    1. Jun 30, 2014 8:45 AM (in response to Timbucktue)