Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

513 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Jul 13, 2014 10:31 AM by justamaniac
SeanDalton Rookie 1 posts since
Jul 6, 2014
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 11, 2014 10:01 AM

New runner - Marathon question

Hey everyone!

I know I state that I am a new runner, but I am new in the sense that it has recently become a big part of my life. I have run for years, but only here and there. I finished my senior season as a college football offensive lineman about 7 months ago, and I am down about 50 lbs. I have never run a half marathon before, but I will be running one next Sunday and I am more than confident I can finish. I ran 8 miles the other day and did not find it difficult, and I can keep a 4 mile split of 7 minutes. I think I am in good shape for a 220 lbs guy and I am pretty athletic.

However! I really want to run a marathon. It is something that is very important for me to achieve. I know I have the willpower to train and perform at that level, but I am not sure how long it will take me to prepare for that. I only started running a month ago to get to where I am at now. My question is, could I be ready to run a marathon on October 5, 2014? I really want to participate in the Portland marathon, but I don't want to register if I cannot handle it yet.

What do you guys think?

• jesperg Rookie 4 posts since
    Jun 17, 2014
    1. Jul 11, 2014 1:39 PM (in response to SeanDalton)