Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

452 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Jul 26, 2014 11:05 AM by Chuck1945
PJinNJ Rookie 4 posts since
Jul 22, 2014
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 22, 2014 11:55 AM

More Questions from another Member of the 200+ Club

Hi,

I am new to running and new to the forum.  12 weeks ago, I started the C25K program.  I have actually been amazed that I was able to meet the challenge each week, however, I am a very slow runner.  (about 1 mile in 15 minutes).  Like some of the others who have posted, I am about 40lbs overweight, and am in my early 50s. 

This past weekend, I attended my first 5k and because of my speed found myself mixed up with those walking/running the 1 miler.   The result was that I ended up off the correct trail, and by the time I realized I was off course, it was too late to retrace my steps and get back on the correct course.  I was really bummed to say the least.  I am not sure that I would have been able to keep up with my 15 minute mile, but I wanted to try.

However, it got me thinking about my personal goals/strategy and would like some imput from more experienced runners.  I have another race scheduled Sept. 8th.

At the beginning of the C25K I was advised to concentrate on either time or distance.  I chose to focus on time. 

I am currently running 30 minutes a day, but I believe I could do more if time allowed, should I continue to work on time/endurance or should I start focusing on my speed?

If I should be focusing on increasing my speed, what is the best way to do that?

Thanks!

• shipo Legend 493 posts since
    Aug 9, 2013