Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

531 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: Jul 22, 2014 8:15 PM by lenzlaw
DaneTra1n Rookie 1 posts since
Jul 22, 2014
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 22, 2014 6:04 PM

Newbie runner, why do my calves/shins hurt so much when running?

Just some background information to work off of:

I am a 20 yr old male, 6 ft 185 lbs, I have an athletic build. I have been running for about 4-5 months now. When I run I try to land (strike) with the middle of my foot, and I tend to run very slow (11-13 min miles). I am currently training for a triathalon where I will have to run a 10k.

I usually try to run 4-6 miles at a time when training, but my runs are anything but consistant. One day I will go 5 miles at an 11 min pace, and the next day I have to run 13 min miles. The reason is that generally about 1 mile into all of my runs my legs, specifically the outside of my shins (tibialis anterior muscle) starts to hurt so much that I have to stop running, or struggle and endure the excruciating pain, which doesnt really die down much. Now I don't think that the problem is that my legs are not strong or in shape. I am very athletic and sometimes I can go for a run and my legs barely hurt (this is very rare). The pain is worse some days than others.

As far as stretching goes, I avoid static stretches before I run, I generally will do some buttkickers, and calf raises, and I build up to each run starting from a walk. Any advice would be appreciated, thanks guys

-Newbie runner

• shipo Legend 499 posts since
    Aug 9, 2013

Okay, first the good news, you're in good shape.