Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1922 Views 11 Replies Latest reply: Nov 26, 2007 9:30 PM by mrinertia RSS
Padre21 Rookie 4 posts since
Dec 14, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Nov 16, 2007 3:02 PM

First Time 5K racer & Keeping pace

1) I am considering running a 5K and have never done it before.  Are there things I should know about race day?  What and when to eat?  I would be in the Clydesdales as a 6'8" and 300lb man. 
2) I have been running for a couple years on a treadmill, but when I run outside have a hard time keeping my pace.  Any suggestions?

• mrinertia Pro 1,310 posts since
    Dec 14, 2007
    1. Nov 16, 2007 3:44 PM (in response to Padre21)
    Re: First Time 5K racer & Keeping pace

Going from TM to road always takes a little adjustment. Doing it in a race should be interesting.

You'll have to rely on "feel" quite a bit, but understand your perceptions going to be a bit skewed. A good 5k race feels kinda like this:

First mile - comfortably hard, settling into pace

second mile - "Gee, this is getting kinda tough but I think I can hang on"

2.0-2.65 or so "Ugh, I think my lungs are gonna fall out"

Then you really drop the hammer and go for it. The last fraction of a mile actually hurts - if you start seeing black spots in front of your eyes, you're doing it right. Hold on, it'll be over in seconds.

Good times, good times.

Let us know how it goes.

• RichardC040 Pro 218 posts since
    Dec 14, 2007
    2. Dec 27, 2007 10:09 AM (in response to Padre21)

Good Luck and Run Strong!!!!

J/K