Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1522 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Jan 19, 2008 9:37 PM by GatorGirl71 RSS
jasty Rookie 1 posts since
Jan 15, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 19, 2008 2:56 PM

I just can't get started

I am not sure what to do. I am totally new at this, I'm not in

terribly good shape, a bit overweight, etc. I have been running/walking

for a few months now, and have gotten myself up to 60 seconds of

running/2 minutes of walking. When I first started, I got shin splints,

so I rested for a week, did countless toe taps, and they went away.

Then I took a few weeks off from running (illness) and when I started

up again the shin splints returned. I've read the shin splints thread,

along with lots of other info, and I pretty much know what I need to do

(rest, ice, ace bandage, toe taps, etc.)

I have good shoes (was

fitted for proper running shoes when I started), and I run slowly, and

only 3 times a week. I can't really "cut back" on my running without

totally stopping.

The problem is, I want to run a 5K in early

April. I'm following the C25K plan (or was going to until this). If I

have to wait for my shins to heal completely, I"m worried I'll never be

ready for the 5K.

I'm also a little confused by the advice to

ice my shins to ease the pain. Is this just for after running? Or will

that reduce the pain in general/overall (heal it faster)? Can I run

through the shin splints? If not, how much time will it take for them

to heal? I was already worried I won't be ready to run the 5K, but this

setback makes me think I shouldn't plan on a race just yet.