Skip navigation

2468 Views 1 Reply Latest reply: Feb 25, 2008 12:50 PM by Lisa M. Wolfe RSS
JMarrocco Rookie 1 posts since
Feb 18, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Feb 18, 2008 5:53 PM

Best way to go about starting off...

Hello everyone!  I am new to running.  I love the outdoors and want to participate in a leisure sport that I can enjoy alone or with friends.  I am in Boulder, CO and so far haven't had trouble finding friends to run with but I do not have the endurance they do yet - and don't want to push myself to fast.  I have been searching around for a good endurance program (I am pretty petite and tend to start bulking easily) with slenderizing effects that I could do 4-5 times a week?  You read about so many, but with my REC pass I want to utilize the gym as much as possible!  These seems like a really supportive team- thanks so much ladies!

• Lisa M. Wolfe Rookie 1 posts since
    Feb 25, 2008
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Feb 25, 2008 12:50 PM (in response to JMarrocco)
    Re: Best way to go about starting off...

Hello and Congratulations on finding something that you're interested in!  I have 18 years of experience in the fitness industry, including being a certified trainer.  I also have a degree in exercise science and am the author of six fitness books.

If you'd like to build your endurance in an indoor setting, you have a lot of options.  The best way to approach is with variety.  Use all the machines that are available to you.  Also, an interval type of training will increase your endurance.