Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1549 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Jun 4, 2008 5:50 PM by Doraine RSS
jenniferbaker Amateur 57 posts since
Dec 14, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

May 26, 2008 3:45 PM

Crosstraining question

What activities are considered acceptable for crosstraining while doing a running program? I really enjoy spin class (cycling indoors) every once in awhile, but I don't want to overexert any muscle groups used while running because that is my primary focus. I figure yoga is ok to do, and swimming, but I'm a total newbie when it comes to exercise and muscle groups.

Thanks!

• dwm082 Community Moderator 1,063 posts since
    Dec 14, 2007
    1. May 26, 2008 5:21 PM (in response to jenniferbaker)
    Re: Crosstraining question

I'm reading "Run Less, Run Faster," which is the guide to the Furman Institute of Running and Scientific Training (FIRST) series of training programs for runners. There's a section on cross training, and here's a general synopsis.

• Good cross training activities will provide good cardiovascular benefits without stressing the running musculature or your lower legs.

• Swimming, rowing, and biking are all good modes of cross training.

• Cycling will help develop your quadriceps, which can balance the hamstring and calf strengthening you get from running. It's also good for hip/joint flexibility, and doing intervals on the bike can help with leg turnover leading to faster running. You need to be careful to make sure the bike/stationary bike you use is set up properly.