Skip navigation

3533 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Aug 5, 2008 11:45 PM by Optimal Nutrition Inc. RSS
supergirl29 Amateur 8 posts since
May 1, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 1, 2008 6:11 PM

bike before swim training

i just started training for my first sprint and am finding that it is easier for me to bike and then swim, as opposed to swim then bike (as my training plan tells me). i feel strong in both areas, mostly worried about the running..so is it ok to reverse the order of my training? of course i will do a few sessions in the right sequence but for now, since i train in the mornings at the gym - its easier to bike first and then get wet.

also - do you guys train on stationary bikes at some points? again, of course ill ride outside but may need a stationary bike at least once a week..

thanks in advance.

• Doc Tri Expert 46 posts since
    Apr 4, 2008
    1. Jun 1, 2008 7:16 PM (in response to supergirl29)
    Re: bike before swim training

Ideally you want to train in the order you do the event (specificity of training) but it won't hurt to do it the way you are doing it.  I found that many people (and myself) tend to get calve/foot cramps if they bike or run before they swim.