Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

3679 Views 10 Replies Latest reply: Jul 9, 2008 5:10 PM by Battleship63 RSS
tryingmarathon Amateur 22 posts since
Dec 14, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 9, 2008 7:52 AM

Why am I gaining weight?

Hello,

I am training for a marathon.  I am now up to 35 miles a week.  I thought I'd lose weight but I was surprised to weigh myself today and find I have gained 4 lbs.  I had my body fat tested before I started training, it was 13.6% (I am female and have done a lot of body building in the past) so I didn't expect to be gaining weight.  Is there any reason for weight gain?   I certainly don't need to lose body fat but maybe I should actually try to lose weight (I am 5' 5" tall and 154 lbs now). 

Thanks, Ann

• Eco13 Expert 56 posts since
    Feb 18, 2008
    1. Jun 9, 2008 9:18 AM (in response to tryingmarathon)
    Re: Why am I gaining weight?

Hi Ann,

I'm definitely not an expert, but my guess would be that you are either building muscle or retaining water.  Or perhaps because of the training you are hungrier and so eating more?  I've been told that the essential body fat percentage for a woman is 10% - 12%, so at 13.6% I can't imagine you would be able to lose much more.  It would be interesting to weigh yourself again in a few days and see if anything has changed.  It might be just a temporary weight gain.

• Jay Silvio We're Not Worthy 1,775 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    2. Jun 9, 2008 10:31 AM (in response to tryingmarathon)
    tryingmarathon wrote:

I certainly don't need to lose body fat but maybe I should actually try to lose weight