Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

6274 Views 8 Replies Latest reply: Mar 13, 2009 8:18 PM by ShihTzuMommy
mikepreble Rookie 2 posts since
Jun 19, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 19, 2008 6:18 PM

What can I do about pain in the outstep of my foot?

I'll apologize in advance for the long post but I'm really concerned that my foot won't let me progress in my marathon training:

I've been running 3+ miles every day on a treadmil for 3 months and then started training for a marathon about a month ago.  This past saturday I did my long run, 9 miles, and then the next day the top of my foot hurt pretty bad (which has never happened before) and I had to loosen the laces on my shoes.  Later that day, the outstep on my left foot started to hurt.  I couldn't walk without feeling dull pain in the bottom of my foot, which progressed into more of a sharp pain at the end of the day.  The top of my foot no longer hurt, it was just in the bottom of my foot in the outstep.

I stayed off it Monday and Tuesday and was able to take my dog for a 2 mile walk on Wednesday.  Then about an hour later it started to hurt again, and it still hurts today (Thursday) when I'm on my feet. 

I always take extra time stretch my calves, but didn't take the time on Saturday when this all happened.   But I did cool down at the end of the run with a mile walk.

My foot's not swollen.  My arch doesn't have any pain, it's in my outstep.  My arches are normal height and I've been running in the same shoes for months.  If I put pressure on the area it doesn't hurt or feel sore, it only hurts when I stand on it.