NEED HELP?|

5512 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: May 14, 2010 7:13 AM by HWKICVO
WillyTriHouston Rookie 1 posts since
Mar 8, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 6, 2008 9:00 AM

Gale Bernhardt's Training Plans

Hi Everyone,

Not necessarily new to triathlon (I completed an Ironman several years ago), but I am new to Gale's training plans.  I have a few questions to those who have used her plans before:

1.  I noticed she is light on describing sets for swimming, etc.  I was wondering if anyone can give me some guidance as to how far the main set should be if she only identifies time.  I know I should include warm up and cool down sets, etc.  Should I interpret the instructions to mean that the warm up and cool down is part of the training time she identifies?

2. Also, on two a day workouts, I dont see if those should be bricks or do one workout and then the other later in the day.

If anyone has other suggestions or example plans for me I would appreciate the input.  Basically my goal is to comfortable finish the iron distance with plenty of time to spare.  I'm a pretty good swimmer and biker, but a SLLLOOOOOWWW runner.

Thanks again!

• Josercaldera Rookie 2 posts since
    Jan 31, 2009
    1. May 11, 2010 10:16 AM (in response to WillyTriHouston)
    Re: Gale Bernhardt's Training Plans

Hi Willy,

I just bought also a training from Gale and noticed the same... Did you ever get an answer to your question below?

Thanks,

- jose

• HWKICVO Pro 51 posts since
    Nov 21, 2008
    2. May 13, 2010 7:23 AM (in response to WillyTriHouston)

I've used a few of Gale's plans and I really liked them, I worked with the 13 week 70.3 training plan last year and now in the middle of the 27 week 70.3 plan this year.  They're good plans but I did have questions about some of the same stuff you're asking about when I first started following last years' plan...here's how I would interpret these: