Skip navigation

3046 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Aug 20, 2008 10:32 AM by Lagnar RSS
avbiro Rookie 1 posts since
Apr 9, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 30, 2008 1:13 PM

Swim Drills

I just purchased the LA Tri workout schedule. I am new to all the swim drills and wanted to see if there was a breakdown with more detailed instruction. Below is just one of the drills I was told to do.

Instructions:

Descending swim times from 3 minutes to 30 seconds. Warm up on the first two. Start with 200 yards.

Coach's Notes:

After the first swim, you go again on 3 minutes, then on 2:55, 2:50, 2:40, etc. down to 30 seconds. Continue to swim the distance you start with until you come in with less than 10 seconds rest, then drop 25 or 50 yards. Stay on the timed interval. If you need more rest, drop the distance and recover while swimming.

• Lagnar Rookie 3 posts since
    Dec 27, 2007
    1. Aug 6, 2008 7:52 PM (in response to avbiro)
    Re: Swim Drills

You have to do a lot of calculating (counting lengths and watching a clock) especially if you are new.  Think of it as a descending latter.  This is a long swim (43m) once again if you are new.   As I read it:

For example: You swim 200 yards in 2:45.  You would rest until 3m then start again.  You start again, but this time you only have 2:55 to complete the 200.  Continuing with the example.  The second one you finish in 2:45 again.  You start for the 3rd time but you only have 2:50 to complete the 200, but since you are doing it in 2:45, you will have less then 10s rest for you should probably only swim 175 yards.

• april hince Rookie 1 posts since
    Jan 5, 2008
    2. Aug 19, 2008 12:48 PM (in response to Lagnar)

I'd like to piggy back on the swim drill questions...I signed up for the 20 week Half Iron training plan and the information below is what is written in the Coaches Note section.