Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1155 Views 1 Reply Latest reply: Sep 9, 2008 8:56 PM by dfcameron
AlbertoinPanama Amateur 21 posts since
Sep 9, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 9, 2008 2:56 PM

Is my HR too high?

I've been running on and off for more than ten years and started using a HR monitor about 3 or 4 yrs ago.  I usually run at an avg hr of 155 to 161, which seems awfully high given that I'm not even close to an elite runner.  Like I said, I run on and off which means that I'll run for 4 to 6 months and then don't run for a month or so.  I'm 5'6", 178 lbs, and I'm currently running 4 or 5 times a week for a total of about 45 to 50 kms per week.  During the regular runs (not the long run) I usually try to sprint on the last 1 or 2 kilometer, so I end up my run at a fairly high HR (usually between 168 to 173) but my HR goes down rather quickly.  It goes down to about 145 within the first 2 minutes after I stop running.  I heard this is good.  Also, my rested HR (first thing in the morning) is about 80.  Anyway, I do feel fine after my runs eventhough my HR seems high but I get concerned when I talked to other fellow runners who run at much lower HRs.  Should I be? ...oops  btw, I'm 49 yrs old and run at very high humidity.

Thanks

• dfcameron Rookie 124 posts since
    Apr 5, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Sep 9, 2008 8:56 PM (in response to AlbertoinPanama)
    Re: Is my HR too high?

Elite vs. non-elite shouldn't matter - its all a matter of fitness.