Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1208 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Sep 19, 2008 10:47 AM by cboozb RSS
dkemp97 Amateur 15 posts since
Jun 28, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 16, 2008 1:27 PM

Troubles on Long Runs

I have been training for about 2 months for my first marathon. Ever since I've started doing runs over 10 miles, my glutes and hips start to hurt. Aerobically I feel fine maintaining 8:55/splits over my long runs, but my legs seem to give me trouble. Am I not eating enough? Should I try and get into the gym and do more weight training to help strengthen the area? Would stretching help?

The pain isn't intense, and it subsides after I cool down and eat/drink. I really think it is my limiting factor on my longer runs, and I am a little worried about getting out to 20miles+. Any advice would help. Thanks.

• cboozb Amateur 11 posts since
    Aug 27, 2007
    1. Sep 19, 2008 12:31 AM (in response to dkemp97)
    Re: Troubles on Long Runs