Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2148 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: May 4, 2006 11:54 AM by shornke RSS
T3charlie Community Moderator 79 posts since
Jul 9, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

May 2, 2006 7:39 AM

Increasing 5K speed

I am 35 years old, about 20 pounds over optimum race weight (5'6", 170 pounds, muscular).  I've been running and competing for 3 years.  My PR in a 5K is 21:48.  My PR in a competitive mile is 6:14.  How can I reach my goal of sub-20:00 on my 5Ks?  I have discussed this with my local Fleet Feet folks and have talked about such issues as weight management, pain threshold, aerobic and anaerobic fitness, cardio fitness, stretching to increase stride length, improving stride style and body positioning, getting more speed work integrated into my runs, increasing overall mileage, etc...  What is your opinion?  Has anyone experienced a similar situation?

• friandshi Rookie 2 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    1. May 2, 2006 8:26 PM (in response to T3charlie)
    Re: Increasing 5K speed

I too am attempting to ramp up the speed, both in a 5K and 10K.  BUT- I am a fourtysomething mother of three, 5'3" and 130 honest but muscular lbs.  I just wanna get faster so help me too please!  Doing the hills now-some say keep up the hills only, and others say stop the hills and hit the track.  Others say do both.  Whatsa gal to do?? Wanna get to 48-49 (from PR of 50:10 goofing around a bit) in the 10K.  Friandshi

• cassyrandolph Rookie 20 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    2. May 2, 2006 9:25 PM (in response to T3charlie)

Hi,