Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1785 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Jan 3, 2009 5:49 AM by MeganRoot
MeganRoot Pro 75 posts since
Dec 14, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 31, 2008 6:47 AM

Race pace vs. workout pace

I've been running for about 2 1/2 years, and I can't help but notice that my race times match my normal workout times.  I run a couple of 5k's a year, and I feel like when I race I am pushing myself as hard as I can.  When I just go out for regular runs, I run the same pace, and feel pretty good.  I try to run slower, but I can't seem to.  So, am I running too fast during regular runs?  Should I push myself during races more?  I do incorporate 1 speed workout a week (either hills or pickups).  I'm not really interested in being fast, but I feel like there should be a difference in my times.  Help? Thanks! (btw, I run about 10:15 to 10:30 mm)  I also run only on trails.

"If you can't fly, then run. If you can't run, then walk. If you can't walk, then crawl. But whatever you do, keep moving." - Martin Luther King, Jr.
  • gbirch Pro 92 posts since
    Sep 10, 2008
    1. Dec 31, 2008 8:50 AM (in response to MeganRoot)
    Re: Race pace vs. workout pace

When you do your speed workouts, what kind of intervals are you doing?