Skip navigation

5439 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Aug 27, 2010 12:43 AM by JustinBrawn RSS
Big Harv Rookie 4 posts since
Oct 5, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Feb 26, 2009 5:29 PM

Nutrition Plan

I recently started training for a triathlon in April. I am 38 years old, 6'1" and weigh 212 pounds. Over the past two years, I have dropped about 40 pounds due to health y eating and exercise. I'm at the point where my body has stopped losing weight, so I hired a nutritionist. She evaluated my diet and said I was eating too few calories (around 2000/day). She instructed me to up my caloric intake to 4000/day. I've been doing this for two weeks and have gained six pounds and feel bloated. However I do feel stronger on my long runs. Any suggestions?

• Tim Van Pro 32 posts since
    Jul 26, 2007
    1. Apr 6, 2009 10:26 PM (in response to Big Harv)
    Re: Nutrition Plan

Hey Big Harv,

Wow! 2000 calories a day?  I'm not surprised that a nutritionist would suggest upping your intake if you are your size and actively training for a triathlon.  It's hard to give specific advice since, other than your size, I don't know much about you.  Variables like how much training you are actually doing, when you eat (and how often), when you train, what you eat, all come into play here.

Basic suggestions would be to go with the 4000 calorie suggestion and break it out over 5 to 6 meals a day.  Stagger the calorie intake per meal to the anticipated activity level.  In other words, you want more calories in a meal which falls before your workout than you do in a meal that falls prior to a period of low activity level.