Skip navigation

2049 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Mar 12, 2009 7:33 PM by muffin0328 RSS
CarlosAraya Rookie 1 posts since
Mar 3, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 8, 2009 9:19 PM

Getting ready for a sprint triathlon - working on the swimming part

I started training in January for my first triathlon, a Spring Mountain Bike one, in late June.

I'm getting a little concerned about the swimming. I can swim the distance (it's only 500 yards) but not all at once, I have to stop every 50 meters or so to catch my breath. The bike and the run are ok. Do you have any ideas on how to build the swimming endurance?

Thanks

Carlos

• FurnaceM3 Amateur 13 posts since
    Mar 31, 2008

Hey Carlos,

I'm in the same situation as you expect maybe I can go a little longer.  Here's what you can do to tackle some of the fear:

a)  Get some books, surf the internet, ...etc. to get some instruction on proper swimming techniques.  It always helps if you understand what things you may need to work on.  Obviously, reading is not enough so practice what you learn.  Try to get some video of yourself in action to see what corrections can be made.

b)  Get a swim coach.  I've heard some positives about having an instructor guide you through your form.  Of course, you'll need to have the budget for one. 

c)  Make sure you are alternate breathing properly.  Don't hold your breath and get your breathing down right (take in through the mouth; breathe out through the nose)

d)  Set up some attainable milestones during your training.  Tell youself you CAN get to 100m without being out of breathe and pace yourself to that goal.  Once that is reached, move a little further out.  Gain some confidence.