Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2047 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Apr 9, 2009 5:11 PM by pekingman RSS
pekingman Rookie 3 posts since
Apr 21, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 5, 2009 3:11 PM

Improving Pace

How do I improve my 10K pace?

I have been running for about 2 years but did my first race this year with the goal of doing a race every month (so far so good).

Race 1 - 10K pace 9:07/m

Race 2 - 8Mile pace 8:24/m

Race 3- 10K pace 8:35/m

Race 4- 10K pace 8:27/m

My next 10K is about a month a way, and I really want to get under 50 minutes, which would require about an 8 minute pace. My training is 3 miles 3 times during the week (treadmill) and 1 long run on the weekend (8-12 miles).

Any suggestions on how I can hit the 8 minute pace in my next 10K?

• lenzlaw Community Moderator 10,387 posts since
    Jan 18, 2008
    1. Apr 5, 2009 3:41 PM (in response to pekingman)
    Re: Improving Pace

Honestly, you probably won't take that much time off in only one month. Start doing intervals once a week, either 800s in about 3:55 or 400s in 1:55, or some combination of the two. They are best done on a track, with slow recovery after each of the same length of time. Start with 4 to 6 and add a couple each week to a maximum of 10 to 14.

Strides done at the end of an easy day can also help. These are pickups of 50 to 100 meters, quick but not a sprint, focusing on form and turnover. Do 6 to 10 with an equal length recovery after each.

Len

Len

• kevpugh Pro 72 posts since
    Jan 15, 2008
    2. Apr 9, 2009 5:01 PM (in response to pekingman)
    Re: Improving Pace