Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2584 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Apr 28, 2009 2:01 PM by RKJ80 RSS
RKJ80 Rookie 2 posts since
Apr 27, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 27, 2009 1:08 PM

Advanced Training from 10K to Half Marathon

Hi,

I am a newbie runner and had my first 5mile race on the weekend (47 minutes).  According to my running schedule (which I found online) I am ready to run a 10K next weekend. I was wondering if anyone had input for me on how to advance my training scheduled to be able to eventually run a half marathon?

How often is it advised to run races - how many "off-days"/"weeks" (rest) should a beginning runner have between races?

Thanks in advance for all input!

RJ

• crl8686 Legend 1,302 posts since
    Nov 11, 2007
    1. Apr 27, 2009 9:56 PM (in response to RKJ80)
    Re: Advanced Training from 10K to Half Marathon

There are a number of good (and free) half marathon training programs available on the Web. Two of the most popular are Runner's World SmartCoach http://www.runnersworld.com  and Hal Higdon's, http://www.halhigdon.com   among others. Depending on your total training base and conditioning level you may want to do either a beginner's or intermediate level half marathon training plan.

The general rule of thumb is no hard running or workouts (including races) for 1 day per mile raced. So in theory you could race 5K's or even 10K's every weekend, although that would probably burn most people out in a short time, mentally and physically. Racing those distances about once a month would be reasonable. 

2014 highlights...