Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1797 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: May 2, 2009 7:03 PM by crl8686
rlowe82 Amateur 7 posts since
Jan 25, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 28, 2009 7:07 AM

Ran Fine For 5 Months...  Now Sore Every Time!  Help!

Hi everyone--

I need some advice and/or help!  Recently, when I complete a run, my legs are really really sore.  I haven't changed anything from my workout; between November (when I started training) and March, I ran without consequences.  What's going on?

For instance, I just did a 5k a few days ago on a treadmill and my hamstrings are so tight, two days later.  I've done 5k's several times before without any problems.  And I haven't changed my stretching workout, either.  I've slightly upped my speed, from say 8 to 8.5, but is that enough? 

So you know, I run three or four times a week, varying from 1.6 miles to 3.1 miles.

Please help!

--richard.

• Nutrition Tara Community Moderator 41 posts since
    Jul 17, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Apr 28, 2009 10:18 AM (in response to rlowe82)
    Re: Ran Fine For 5 Months... Now Sore Every Time! Help!

First I would make sure that you are hydrated.  Dehydration occurs gradually over time so symptoms may not show up at first.

If you are sure that you are hydrated try taking a Calcium/Magnesium Citrate supplement.  Magnesium is a natural relaxor and one of the most deficient minerals in the American diet.  Magnesium citrate is the best absorbed form of that mineral.  You should notice that your soreness is reduced in a few days.  I recommend taking it at night.