Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1673 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Jun 9, 2009 7:33 PM by Jeannellie
Jeannellie Rookie 2 posts since
Apr 9, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 8, 2009 6:59 PM

Increased shin pain with new insoles?

Hi There!

I've been running for about six months now, and I noticed during last weekend's 5K that I was experiencing some achy inner shins.  I thought that maybe my shoes needed to be evaluated, so I went to my local running shoe store and they checked my gait and all that fun stuff.  I've been running with berry superfeet, and the salesperson had me try the green ones...it seemed to help straighten out my stride at the store so I thought I'd give it a shot.  Today I went for my first run with my new, stiffer insoles.  I made it about fifteen minutes then had to walk, my inner shins were HURTING.  

Part of me thinks that it could be that the new insoles just need to be broken in, and then the pain will subside.  Part of me things that this is a bad way of deluding myself.  I'm going to ease back for a few days just to give myself a chance to recover, but has anyone ever experienced something like this?  Stiffer insoles causing shin pain?  I don't remember this when I started running with my berries, but I could just be blocking out painful memories...

Thanks for your help,

Jeannel

• Imgellin Legend 498 posts since
    Jul 13, 2008
    1. Jun 9, 2009 2:24 PM (in response to Jeannellie)
    Re: Increased shin pain with new insoles?

Jeannel,