Skip navigation

9581 Views 21 Replies Latest reply: Sep 1, 2009 11:36 AM by SocialD RSS 1 2 Previous Next
Malyna33 Amateur 8 posts since
Jun 15, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 15, 2009 8:20 AM

Need some words of encouragement!

I am going to do my first 1/2 marathon in November. I am currenlty walking/jogging 4 times a week and have lost 78lbs total over the last 5 years ( I had 2 children within this time as well). I have always worked out on and off since I have always been on a diet. I have been heavy all my life and I now weigh less that I did when I was a freshman in highschool. (Only because of instead of dieting I finally saw it as a life change.) I am 5'7, 211 currently and plan to lose another 15 before the 1/2 marathon. I start the acutal training for the 1/2 marathon 07/04/09. I have had alot of friends and family tell me I am crazy for wanting to do this because I have never even done a 5k before. But I do plan to do one before November. I don't know if  I can finish but I will be trying my hardest. My 1st motivation was watching the biggest loser but then was hesitant because my friends talked about how the contestests trained for hours a day. Then my father was recently diagnosed with cancer and seeing what he was going through made me get up and register. I am just tired of hearing words of discouragement and seeing faces from friends as if I am joking. Does it seem impossible to complete even if I chose to walk straight through? Is there anyone out there that has been in a similar postion?

Malyna

• Nutrition Tara Community Moderator 41 posts since
    Jul 17, 2007
    1. Jun 15, 2009 11:09 AM (in response to Malyna33)
    Re: Need some words of encouragement!