Skip navigation

5344 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Sep 22, 2007 6:24 AM by Mason_Dixon_Blue RSS
4eyes44 Rookie 2 posts since
May 30, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 19, 2007 12:47 PM

Catcher's Interference



LL Majors (or minors)


6.08 (c) states that If a play follows the interference, the manager of the offense may advise the plate umpire of a decision to decline the interference penalty and accept the play.


What constitutes a 'play' and does the OM have to accept the penalty no matter what?


EG:


Bottom 6 HT down 1 run, 2 out, R3, Batter 6 is up with x-2 count; CI on strike 2, foul ball.


OM knows this batter can rip a single and score the winning run; Batter 7 is a certain strike out. The CI in this case is a death sentence.


Can the OM decline the penalty in this situation (absent a 'play')?


44

 

  • LLRules Rookie 4 posts since
    May 30, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Sep 19, 2007 3:04 PM (in response to 4eyes44)
    Re: Catcher's Interference

     

    I would read it further it says "however, if the batter reaches first base on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batter, or otherwise and all runners advance at least one base , the play proceeds without reference to the interference", in all instances the batter has become a BR and the a runner when he reaches 1b so I would say that to have a decision you would need to have the Batter becoming a BR for it to be considered a play, a foul ball with CI would stand and you would not have a choice beacuse there has not been a play. Just my opinion and my opinion have been wrong before.

     

     

     

     

     

    Bill

     

     

  • TomEllis Amateur 8 posts since
    Jul 23, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    2. Sep 20, 2007 2:13 PM (in response to 4eyes44)
    Re: Catcher's Interference

     

    Here are some examples of plays described in rule 6.oo (c):

     

     

    Examples of plays the manager might elect to take: 1. Runner on third, one out, batter hits fly ball to the outfield on which the runner scores but catcher's interference was called. The offensive manager may elect to take the run and have batter called out or have runner remain at third and batter awarded first base. 2. Runner on second base. Catcher interferes with batter as he bunts ball fairly sending runner to third base. The manager may rather have runner on third base with an out on the play than have runners on second and first. In situations where the manager wants the "interference" penalty to apply, the following interpretation shall be made of 6.08 (c): If the catcher (or any fielder) interferes with the batter, the batter is awarded first base. If, on such interference a runner is trying to score by a steal or squeeze from third base, the ball is dead and the runner on third scores and batter is awarded first base. If the catcher interferes with the batter with no runners trying to score from third on a squeeze or steal, then the ball is dead, batter is awarded first base and runners who are forced to advance, do advance. Runners not attempting to steal or not forced to advance remain on the base they occupied at the time of the interference. If the catcher interferes with the batter before the pitcher delivers the ball, it shall not be considered interference on the batter under Rule 6.08 (c). In such cases, the umpire shall call "Time" and the pitcher and batter start over from "scratch." (d) A fair ball touches an umpire or a runner on fair territory before touching a fielder. If a fair ball touches an umpire after having passed a fielder other than the pitcher, or having touched a fielder, including the pitcher, the ball is in play.

     

     

     

     

     

    I hope this helps in answering your question.

     

     

     

     

     

    Tom

     

     

     

     

     

  • BHanlon Pro 82 posts since
    May 30, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    3. Sep 21, 2007 8:52 AM (in response to 4eyes44)
    Re: Catcher's Interference

     

    According to Jaksa/Roder:

     

     

     

     

     

    "The offensive manager has the option to accept the result of the continuous action rather than have the interference enforced. However, such manager must excercise this option on his own initiative; the umpire does not offer such an option."

     

     

    So to answer the original post, you may choose the foul ball play as it occurred.

     

     

     

     

     

    Also, on a side note: This is an OBR interpretation that is the rule of thumb for upper level ball.  Little League has gone on record to state that in LLBB the umpire may actually inform the manger that he could take the continuous action as an option.

     

     

  • Mason_Dixon_Blue Legend 250 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    4. Sep 22, 2007 6:24 AM (in response to 4eyes44)
    Re: Catcher's Interference

    The batter did not put the ball in play. Therefore, A play did not follow the interference. The manager has no option in this case.

     

     

     

     

     

    Answer this question, and the answer to your question should become obvious. In the same situation, with Batter 7 being a certain strikeout; If the defense intentionally walks Batter 6, can the manager decline the walk, and keep Sluggo at the plate? Obviously, no he can't.

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...