Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

4852 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Sep 29, 2009 11:44 PM by JamesJohnsonLMT RSS
Datsariot Amateur 8 posts since
Sep 7, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 27, 2009 11:09 AM

Ache in left upper calf muscle

I am a newbie runner.  Been running off and on for the past two months.  L

The past two days I have had an ache in my left upper calf muscle - feels like when you have had a bad cramp and the muscle i pulled.

When sitting still it is noticeable.

I just finished jog/running 6.4 today and I noticed near the end of the workout I could feel the ache every time I made a stride.

Is this anything to worry about?

• JamesJohnsonLMT Legend 1,160 posts since
    Aug 23, 2009
    1. Sep 27, 2009 9:26 PM (in response to Datsariot)
    Re: Ache in left upper calf muscle

I wouldn't stress over it, but you need to take care of the problem before it morphs into a full-blown injury. The upper calf includes the highly visible gastroc(nemius) muscle, which rapidly plantarflexes the foot when the leg is straight (as in jumping or stairclimbing), but a portion of the larger and more powerful soleus is underneath, which is used more by runners. Underneath the soleus are three long toe flexor/plantarflexor muscles, which can can cramp, get hard, and cause pain.