Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

1639 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Nov 3, 2009 12:56 PM by Ajax0505
MarineTanker Expert 56 posts since
May 4, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Nov 1, 2009 8:27 PM

Newbie to the Tri arena.

I'm totally new to this sport.  Anyone with suggestions on what type of bike to get to do a half Ironman?  Thanks for all.

• honguito Pro 135 posts since
    Dec 24, 2007
    1. Nov 2, 2009 5:45 AM (in response to MarineTanker)
    Re: Newbie to the Tri arena.

Dear friend !

Welcome to the wonderful world of triathlon.

Before you think of doing a half Ironman you should start with sprint and olympic distance events. Take it easy and build up your body during at least one or two years before you think of doing a 70.3 . Make sure to get the correct aero-bars on your bike (Sprint and Olympic fistance rules are different frrom Ironman rules).

Good luck

Gunter

www.triatlonca.org

• Joe_h1 Community Moderator 1,833 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    2. Nov 2, 2009 6:32 AM (in response to MarineTanker)

you can use a mtn bike or a hybrid but you'd probably be better off w/ a road or tri bike - go to a good local bike shop and see what they can offer you that fits you and fits your budget.

do you have a training plan and training races set up?

goals for 2011:

break 19minutes for 5k

break 2:42 for olympic triathlon probably Anthracite olympic

break 3:16 for marathon ( a long shot but it's fun putting yourself out there)

• jasonmellet Pro 77 posts since
    Jul 6, 2009
    3. Nov 2, 2009 9:02 AM (in response to Joe_h1)