Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

3051 Views 0 Replies Latest reply: Dec 1, 2009 8:01 AM by njusino
njusino Rookie 1 posts since
Dec 1, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 1, 2009 8:01 AM

Has anyone read A Lifestyle Choice: Getting Fit?

As a Personal Trainer myself, I agree with some portions of the article. For instance, setting goals to get you to workout and working out with friends for motivation and fun challenges.

But to say that it's not good to start with a Personal Trainer to figure out what activity works best for you I think is wrong. If you start off with a good trainer (I mean one that has been in the industry for years, not someone that is just out of school and is eager to train someone in sports conditioning) you would get a full evaluation including asking the person about what they have done in the past for fitness, what they liked and didn't like, and what kind of workout they are looking for....from there we can suggest classes to take, if they are part of a gym or suggest outside activities that won't seem like a workout if they enjoy the outdoors. Not only that we can help the person figure out their physical strengths and weakness to let them know what they can do to improve that in the activity they would like to do. Trainers are there to help with direction, to assist the person to right activity that will motivate them to make fitness a part of their life.