Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

60557 Views 286 Replies Latest reply: Jan 12, 2011 2:19 PM by Mary29831 1 2 3 ... 20 Previous Next
Jag92288 Amateur 36 posts since
Dec 1, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 4, 2009 11:15 AM

Starting Couch to 5k Program Sunday 12/6

Hey everybody, my name is Austin and I'm new to running.  I have done a lot of elliptical and stationary biking lately and a little running, but I want to start focusing on more running and prepare for a 5k.  Does anybody want to join me as I start so we can talk about the program and how it is going for us?  I will run Sundays, Tuesdays, and Thursdays.

• FinireLaCorsa Rookie 3 posts since
    Dec 6, 2009
    2. Dec 7, 2009 7:12 AM (in response to Jag92288)
    Re: Starting Couch to 5k Program Sunday 12/6

I started this morning, I'll be doing Monday, Wednesday, Friday. W1D1 felt like it went pretty well. I've never really run for fun before so I might be forced repeat a week later on, see how it goes. I don't feel tight or injured but I did feel a bit winded toward the end.  I was a little overdressed, it was 40 out and I went with pants, a jacket and a beanie. Might go with just shorts and jacket under similar conditions next time.  I was in decent shape most of my life, was in the military until 2 years ago and getting out saw me lose focus of heatlhy eating and exercise. When my wife took a job in Italy at the start of this year the food and wine along with being home alot has seen me baloon up to 225. My diets in check and I hope this program will round out my new plan. Looking forward to the next run already.