Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

11501 Views 16 Replies Latest reply: Mar 30, 2010 10:16 AM by tdslovey 1 2 Previous Next
SethW06 Amateur 25 posts since
Oct 13, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 9, 2009 8:20 AM

Sprint tri and half marathon training at same time?

Hey everyone.  I wanted to hear people's thoughts on training for a first-time sprint and first-time half marathon at the same time.  I've been running for about 6 months now - completed a few 5Ks - and in my training I'm up to about 5-6 miles per run in the 50-60 min time range.  I recently started training for a sprint about a month ago using a plan from beginnertriathlete.com, and my goal is to run a few sprints in May-August next year.  But I'd also like to run a half marathon in September or October.  The problem is that every half marathon training plan I've seen includes at least 4 if not 5 days of running and this would be pretty tough to do while also triathlon training.  I realize all of these events are many months away so I can conceive of some customized plan where I alternate training plans - one week on triathlon training then one week on half marathon training.

But I'm wondering from those with experience if all of this seems like it would be too much too soon.  I'm 25 years old, so I know I'm still young and my body should be able to handle it, but I've been out of shape for a few years now.  Getting into running and now triathlons has really helped me get back into shape, and I'm trying to be really conscious of how my body is feeling and not over-work.  I'd hate to have an injury sideline me for weeks after all the hard work.  Thanks in advance for any advice or suggestions.

2009 Races

Baltimore Running Festival 5K 10/10/09 29:53

RAMPace 5K 11/21/09 28:15

2010 Races

Tri to Help Maryland Indoor Triathlon 3/6/10 525yds/10min swim, 10.2mi/30min bike, 2.08mi/20min run

Shamrock 8K 3/20/10 46:34

Apple Blossom 10K 5/1/10 56:32

Celebration Sprint Triathlon 6/27/10 2:20:59