Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2918 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Jan 4, 2010 10:59 PM by bostonwolf RSS
jkb5323 Rookie 4 posts since
Dec 14, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 15, 2009 9:20 AM

Hitting a discouraging point and need advice

Hi, I am new to running and trying the c25k program. I am on week 4 and have hit a brick wall. Everything to here has been slightly challenging, but within 4 to 5 workouts I could feel myself getting better and doing well. Now at week 4, being 5 workouts in I feel like I am not getting better, but worse. By the end of the workout I am struggling to stay on my feet. I have tried dialing back the speed and bringing down my percentage grade, but am still really struggling by the end. Any advice? I really enjoy running and don't want to become so discouraged that I quit.

Thanks!

• spicegeek Community Moderator 2,563 posts since
    Jan 14, 2007
    1. Dec 15, 2009 11:15 AM (in response to jkb5323)
    Re: Hitting a discouraging point and need advice

1. take a week or 2 off - use the bike or eliptical for 40 mins - 1 hours instead

2. I assume you are using treadmill - forget the incline

3. Make sure you are hydrated before the workout

4. Make sure you have fuel - eat a banana or a granola bar about 1 hour before the workout

5. somedays you feel better than others runa t the pace you feel on the day

NYC Marathon          Nov 1 2009     -   4:03:13 ( 9:17 mm )

NYC Half Marathon   Aug 16 2009   -   1:55:38 ( 8:49 mm )

1 mile -  7:07                             10K     - 52:58 ( 8:32 mm)