Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2383 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Dec 29, 2009 9:26 AM by cyndi t RSS
SethW06 Amateur 25 posts since
Oct 13, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 29, 2009 3:21 AM

first long run and food/gels ?

Hi everyone,

I've been running for the last six months or so, run a few 5Ks, and in my training I'm up to running consistently 10K distance in ~58-60 min.  As of now, when I run outside I don't bring anything to eat or drink with me, and when I run on the treadmill I will usually take a few sips of water.  From talking to other runners, it sounds like for runs much beyond an hour I need to start taking in some calories during the run.

I know the answer will be that I will have to see what ultimately works for me, but I'd like to hear what works for other runners in terms of both the food/drink/gels and timing.  For example, if I'm planning a 7 mile run, do you eat/drink around 3.5 miles or wait until closer to the end?  Thanks for any suggestions and advice.

Seth

2009 Races

Baltimore Running Festival 5K 10/10/09 29:53

RAMPace 5K 11/21/09 28:15

2010 Races

Tri to Help Maryland Indoor Triathlon 3/6/10 525yds/10min swim, 10.2mi/30min bike, 2.08mi/20min run

Shamrock 8K 3/20/10 46:34

Apple Blossom 10K 5/1/10 56:32

Celebration Sprint Triathlon 6/27/10 2:20:59

Hammer Man Triathlon 9/25/10 1:40:42

Columbus Half-Marathon 10/17/10 2:10:12

• trailchick Amateur 7 posts since
    Jun 30, 2008
    1. Dec 29, 2009 4:10 AM (in response to SethW06)
    Re: first long run and food/gels ?

Hey there!