Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

4414 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Jan 21, 2010 5:26 AM by mklique RSS
Jamie76770 Rookie 1 posts since
Jan 19, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 19, 2010 6:12 AM

Right Foot Numbness

Hi all, Just hoping that some of you can shed some light on a problem I've been having.

I'm 26/f and overweight at 210lbs. I've been working out at Curves plus walking/eliptical for about 4 years now, and I've tackled running before, hated it, and I'm giving it another try. I'm at the point where I'm running/walking 2 minutes each for about 40 minutes plus warm up and cool down. At about the 20 or 25 minute mark, my right foot goes asleep. Not like pins and needles kind of sleep, it's like running on a stump, numb all the way up to the ankle. I can keep running this way, but I know there's something going on, and I am making injury more likely. I have no numbness in my left foot. I got a new pair of shoes from a running store with excellent support, and now I can get to about 30 or 35 minutes until the numbness sets in. I am following a run/walk program from a book, and it seems like 50 minutes total at this point is much longer than the plans suggested on this site. Someone at the gym suggested that the numbness might be caused by a nerve being pinched in my back.

Have any of you had or heard of this problem? Any advice would be appreciated.

• Shorty158 Amateur 28 posts since
    Jan 15, 2010
    1. Jan 19, 2010 9:29 AM (in response to Jamie76770)
    Re: Right Foot Numbness