Skip navigation

3819 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Feb 1, 2010 1:28 PM by JNugBballer14
mdog795 Rookie 1 posts since
Jan 20, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 20, 2010 7:22 AM

Improving left dribbling hand

Hey guys,

I'm a 16 year old sophomore who's currently playing on JV basketball. I would say my biggest weakness right now is the fact that I only can go right when I drive because my left hand is so lacking in terms of dribbling ability.  What's the best way to improve this deficiency?  I also have major problems with my left handed layup.

• iAthletes Legend 429 posts since
    Jan 7, 2010
    1. Jan 20, 2010 12:37 PM (in response to mdog795)
    Re: Improving left dribbling hand

Great question and I happy to hear you are seeking out help. It is vital to be able to dribble effectively with both hands as well as finish layups with both hands.

There are many drills and techniques you can do to improve this, it will take some effort and hard work but its worth it. Being skilled with both hands gives you more options as a player and provides you confidence that you can go both ways.

Shoot me an email and I will detail the drills and workouts you can be doing on a regular basis come off-season and even some at home. - dannym@innovativeathletes.com

I look forward to working with you.

Danny

Founder of the worlds first ever online basketball camp, 3-Point Academy

Our home website; Innovative Athletes

Email: dannym@innovativeathletes.com

Follow iAthletes on Twitter

• CoachDadG Rookie 3 posts since
    Jan 20, 2010
    2. Jan 20, 2010 3:15 PM (in response to mdog795)

Developing your weak side is critical.  There are a few simple things you can do.  You must be dedicated - ever hear the saying "practice makes perfect"?