Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2069 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Mar 10, 2010 2:57 PM by Angiesrunning RSS
Angiesrunning Amateur 32 posts since
Nov 18, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 25, 2010 6:44 AM

Pain in the leg

I started running in Nov, but I've been working out at the gym actively for 2 1/2 years.  I decided to train for a half  marathon at the end of Feb.  A week ago, I ran my longest run (9 miles) and ever since I've had this pain in my leg.  It's on the inside between my knee and my ankle...not my calf, but not my shin either.  Sometimes it hurts just from walking, however if I lay off of it and ice it, it seems to be doing better, but I still can't run.  Any suggestions as to what this might be and what can I do for it?  I'm 5 weeks out from my race and really want to run.  I've stayed away from running for the past few days, but wearing shoes with a heal yesterday just about hurt it again.  I can ride the bike at the gym and it doesn't hurt it anymore...  I need advice.  I really want to run this race, but I don't want to hurt my leg further.  I stretch before and after each run.  I don't know how I injured it.

Angie

• bbqbrad Rookie 4 posts since
    Jan 6, 2010
    1. Jan 25, 2010 7:00 AM (in response to Angiesrunning)
    Re: Pain in the leg

This is probably not what you're wanting to hear but...

Too much too soon.  Classic case.  Don't run for 2 weeks, see how your leg feels.

Bottom line is. Rest those legs and aim for a more realistic goal.  5-8k perhaps.

You've gotta build up the mileage slow and steady.

Best of luck! Don't be discouraged.