Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

3738 Views 16 Replies Latest reply: Apr 17, 2010 5:41 AM by jjphilippon 1 2 Previous Next
omlittrell Rookie 6 posts since
Feb 26, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 22, 2010 11:29 AM

sudden drop in performance. overtraining?

I'm recently very perplexed by a sudden drop in my endurance, speed, all  of the above.
I recently picked up the chi running book and found  some good techniques which have improved my distance. I had a brief bout  of improvement (i'm pretty new to running). But I'm only doing about 16  miles/week, ~9.5-10 min/mile usually four non-consequtive days a week  with a pretty vigorous spin class on the in between days.Usually 5 days  of cardio a week at app 40 minutes each.  Do lower body strength  training once a week, weighted squats, deadlifts and other strength  training 3 days a week.

Problem: got on the treadmill mid week  to do my usual four miler and couldn't make it over a mile and a half,  usual incline (1%) and pace (10 minute mile) as previous.  Nothing  specifically hurts just feel like I did when I first started running.

Recommendations/diagnosis  anyone?

I took off two days, no strength training or cardio  and tried to run again and still cannot.
Help, its sunny out and i'd  like to be out there enjyoing it!

• aj01 Pro 143 posts since
    Jul 8, 2008
    1. Mar 23, 2010 2:36 PM (in response to omlittrell)
    Re: sudden drop in performance. overtraining?