Skip navigation

2958 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Apr 26, 2010 7:33 AM by one2swim RSS
SlowPokeChu Pro 64 posts since
Dec 29, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 30, 2010 12:25 PM

Current Runner...Wannabe Swimmer...Advice?

Hey Yalls,

So I'm a newbie swimmer who...I think...just figured out how to freestyle semi-acceptibly...sort of. My style is closer to doggie style with flapping arms and a bobbing head.

My question is...how much time should it take me to swim a mile?  Currently, it takes me two hours...haha.

Thanks everyone!!!!

• KurtinSC Pro 126 posts since
    Nov 23, 2009
    1. Apr 1, 2010 8:20 AM (in response to SlowPokeChu)
    Re: Current Runner...Wannabe Swimmer...Advice?

"Should" is very relative... I'm not sure there's a correct answer.

At my swimming peak (15 years ago), I could mantain a sub-minute per 100 yard pace indefinitely.  Now I'm at more of a minute and a half per hundred.  That would have put me under 17:30 back in the day, and closer to 30 minutes now.  The people I'm swimming with in preparation for a triathlon are all closer to 45-60 minutes for a mile.

Here are some general pointers that may help you a lot with your speed:

1.  Body rotation.  Much of the freestyle technique is based around the concept of rolling your body from side to side as you swim.  Essentially, as you are swimming the shoulder of the arm that is recovering out of the water should be pointed up at the ceiling, and the shoulder of the arm that is pulling through the water should be pointed at the bottom of the pool.  You roll your whole body from side to side as you stroke with your arms... kind of like there is a poll going from the top of your head and coming out your bottom.  This allows you to breath to the side, rather then in front of you.