Skip navigation

4315 Views 11 Replies Latest reply: May 7, 2010 5:44 PM by Sophile RSS
HearHillaryRoar Rookie 3 posts since
Feb 27, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 27, 2010 4:03 PM

Newbie (But got bit by the tri-bug!) Bike questions!

Hi, I am relatively new to triathlon, I only have one sprint under my belt, and i have been running my entire life.

However, my bike is an out-dated department store mountain bike, which has a permanently stuck rear brake (constant resistance!! so fun for that 13.1, and the 20 mile training rides!)

Anyway, my question to all you experienced triathletes, is what kind of bike would you recommend? I am a college student (thus pretty broke) and am looking to spend no more than 500 dollars. Also, this season, I'm only doing sprints, and next season i'm going to do some sprints and olympics (and a crap ton of half marathons thrown in there!! but i digress...)

Anyway, my question to you all, is should i get a (WAY) low end Tri- bike? Or a mediocre road bike? The race on my mountain bike was AWFUL. The gears don't shift properly, the brakes are awful, and I'd like a bike that is a help rather than a hindrance.

I have looked on ebay, but there really aren't too many bikes listed that are in my price range.

Any help, or words of advide on this matter are welcome!!

Thanks in advance,

Hillary.

=]

• alimoyni Rookie 1 posts since
    Apr 16, 2010

As a college student there has to be a bike store near you.  And with high population turn over perhaps even a used bike store near you?  I would see if you could get a used road bike or at least get those back brakes fixed so the bike portion isnt a struggle.

Grats on your first tri!

• dnavarro82 Pro 113 posts since
    Apr 24, 2008

Hi Hillary,