Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2910 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: May 19, 2010 5:36 AM by dorrian3 RSS
dorrian3 Rookie 5 posts since
May 17, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

May 17, 2010 6:51 AM

knee/shin pain

I started running the C25K about 5 weeks ago with my boyfriend's sister to get her started running.  I've been running to stay in shape for a few years.  So I've been using the program with lower speed runs instead of walking.  We have been taking our time advancing in the program doing each week twice.  After the last run on Saturday I noticed that my lower leg was really sore. It felt like a nagging pain along my shin.  I thought this might be shin splints and stayed off my feet the next day, iced it, and took advil.  The pain has really not gone away.  After resting, I now can tell that the pain is actually in the lower inside of my knee.  It is a nagging pain that stays whether I'm walking or sitting and feels like it travels down my shin.  I've never had shin splints before so I'm not sure if that is what I'm experiencing.  If any one knows what this might be or if there is anything I can do besides ice, it would be greatly appreciated.  My boyfriend's sister is starting to really get excited about working out and I don't want to disappoint her by having to take off too much time.

• defender of wildlife Rookie 1 posts since
    May 6, 2010
    1. May 17, 2010 7:15 AM (in response to dorrian3)
    Re: knee/shin pain