Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1866 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: May 26, 2010 10:41 AM by aprophet1 RSS
Leigh Limpic Rookie 5 posts since
Jan 23, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

May 26, 2010 9:39 AM

Running my first half-marathon

I seem to be reading conflicting opinions about running vs. running/walking a race.  I have been running for 3 months and hope to run my first half-marathon in Sept.  How do I decide whether to train using a run/walk pln or running only plan?  Please note:  I am very new and this is a big stretch to try to complete the Sept. half marathon.  I have a 2nd scheduled in Jan. which I am more confident I will be able to run the whole way.  Thanks for any guidance!

Leigh Limpic

• mrsgoose8 Amateur 33 posts since
    May 10, 2010
    1. May 26, 2010 9:54 AM (in response to Leigh Limpic)
    Re: Running my first half-marathon

well, I'm new myself, and I'm not TOTALLY sure what you're asking but I'm just going to go ahead and share my story.

I've been running since January (did the C25K) and I'm running my first half on Sunday. I for the most part followed Hal Higdon's half marathon training program for "novices". I ran as much as I can, but I definitely walked some of the time (and will walk some during my half on sunday I am sure!). I think you just should shoot for running as much as you can, but listen to your body! If you need to walk, walk, know what I mean? 

HTH! Good Luck to you!

http://onerunningmum.com/

First 1/2 Marathon- 5/30!!! Completed!!! 2hr30min49seconds (good time for me! )

• aprophet1 Amateur 8 posts since
    Dec 6, 2007