Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

5457 Views 14 Replies Latest reply: Jun 15, 2010 8:40 PM by JenVB
JenVB Amateur 25 posts since
Sep 20, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 12, 2010 9:17 PM

My first 5K!!--and this is what I learned--

I'm a C25K graduate (as of last week).  Today I ran my first 5K and learned a few things  1) XC means cross country, which means hills, lots of them!  2)  Just because you start at the back doesn't mean you won't end up in the middle later on (a lot of people slow down!)  3) People really do cheer you on, even though they finished the race 20 minutes ago  4)  7-year olds are pretty darn fast   5) Running on grass is very different from running on the road  6)  It is amazing just how fast you can run when you see the finish line.

I was slow, really slow.  I finished at 41 minutes, which is a 13:17 min/mile (they were kind enough to email my results and perform the calculations). I'm pretty proud.  Nine weeks ago I would never have guessed I would have been able to run that far. Woo Hoo!!

• dawn_o Amateur 26 posts since
    May 6, 2010
    1. Jun 12, 2010 9:58 PM (in response to JenVB)
    Re: My first 5K!!--and this is what I learned--

Congratulations on your first 5k!  I like your assessment of the experience; makes me look forward to my first race.

--dawn

Terry Fox 5k Race | 19-September-2010 | 35:11

James Cunningham 9.5k Seawall Race | 31-October-2010 | 1:04:03.94

The Fall Classic 5k | 21-November-2010 | 28:15 PB!

• polygro Amateur 9 posts since
    Jun 7, 2010
    2. Jun 13, 2010 2:24 AM (in response to JenVB)