Skip navigation

40043 Views 140 Replies Latest reply: Aug 17, 2011 7:05 PM by Mtaurus575 RSS 1 2 3 ... 10 Previous Next
TizzyO'Grady Amateur 33 posts since
Mar 2, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 4, 2010 2:36 PM

In Defense of the Marathon Walker

Hello fellow walkers!

I've been enjoying your posts for some time now and I decided today was the day to jump in on the discussion.  I've been walking seriously since I was 11 months old for just over a year now, after 2 decades of trying to be a runner.  Words cannot describe the peace I feel now that I have acknowledged to myself and others that no matter how hard I try, running is not for me.  The iced knees, the aching hips and the burning lungs -- and that was just after a mile!  No, I'm a walker and in making peace with that fact, I decided that I would find new and challenging ways to push myslef within the confines of the walking community so that I could feel really good about my new sport.

Once I settled into my new walking routine and began talking about it, a new snobbery revealed itself in the form of the fellow walker question "what type of walking do you do?"  "Err, the regular one foot in front of the other kind."  "No, no, no,  power walking? fitness walking? race walking?"  "Um, race walking I guess"-- I said that because power walking sounded really intense and difficult and fitness walking sounded like the people who walk around carrying weights and race walking just sounded like, well, walking fast -- so I went with that.  Then I Googled it.  Oh, crap.